Insurance Injury Cases. Injured Persons Obtaining Compensation if Negligent Drivers Don’t Have Adequate Insurance. Most injuries to drivers involved in multi-vehicle accidents are the fault of the other driver and, even though you may have adequate insurance coverage, the responsible party may not.
New Jersey law generally requires a driver to have:
- $15,000 for injury or death of 1 person per accident.
- $30,000 for injury or death of 2 or more persons per accident.
- $5,000 for property damage per accident.
However, New Jersey also permits the sale of a new basic policy which essentially provides no coverage at all if someone is injured.
“Uninsured motorist” means that the person responsible for your injuries is operating a vehicle without any insurance coverage whatsoever. If you have purchased uninsured motorist coverage, you will be able to collect from your insurance company to recoup your damages (both property and personal).
“Underinsured motorist” means that the person responsible for your injuries has opted to purchase only the minimum policy required by law. If you have purchased underinsured motorist coverage, you will be able to collect from your insurance company to recoup your damages (both property and personal) that exceed the responsible party’s limits. We can often help you if you are seriously injured and the defendant has minimal coverage or was uninsured.
It is imperative that you carry insurance that includes “uninsured motorist” coverage and “underinsured motorist” coverage.
Drivers are responsible to pay for catastrophic injuries. You must protect your interests and your future by making sure that your insurance policy includes protection against drivers who are irresponsible.